Kerrytown BookFest Facebook Twitter

Michigan Humanities Council Awards the BookFest a grant for 2016

mhc logoThe Michigan Humanities Council (MHC) announced $220,234 in grants to 21 Michigan organizations in support of public humanities programming. This major grant cycle, the Humanities Grants, support projects exploring history, poetry, reading, education and community identity. The 2016 BookFest will focus on “Travels with Books” with programming to be announced soon.

“The Council is pleased to support these humanities programs in Michigan,” said Jan Fedewa, Interim Executive Director of the Michigan Humanities Council. “These projects not only educate, inform, and enrich local audiences in these communities, but also attract visitors, support community development, and build capacity in organizations around the state.”

Humanities Grants are awarded to Michigan nonprofits in support of cultural, educational and community-based public humanities programming. These grants play a vital role in defining our culture, our state, our community and ourselves, and are intended to connect us to Michigan’s rich cultural heritage and historical resources.

We are more than grateful for the support of the Humanities Council and look forward to working with them in 2016!

What’s Your Favorite Superpower?

Graphic novels, or as we all used to call them “comics,” have been growing in complexity, popularity and artistic innovation, so much so that whenever we’ve featured them at the bookfest the topic has proved to be very popular. This year we invited the owner of Ann Arbor’s Vault of Midnight, Curtis Sullivan, to put together a panel for us.

vault of midnight

Curtis came up with a wonderful topic: “Read Comics or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Medium” (Main Tent, 3:45). The panel is being moderated by Vault of Mindnight manager Nick Yribar, and Curtis and Nick will be joined by Ann Arbor talents Raymond McDaniel and Jerzy Drozd.

Read More →

Talking Mysteries at the BookFest

Every year our mystery panels are some of the most popular and well-attended of the day, so we always aim for two panels of very different types of mystery writing. This year, we’re featuring a traditional mystery panel, 1:15pm in the Main Tent, and a suspense panel, 2:45pm in the Kerrytown Concert House. If you love most any type of mystery, you should be able to find an author you already love or will grow to love this year.

Read More →

Poetry Slammers at the BookFest!

The BookFest often features a poetry panel, but this year we’ve decided to focus on a special part of contemporary poetry: poetry slammers. Moderated by Source Booksellers Detroit owner Janet Webster Jones, the panel features Scott Beal, Jeff Kass, Casey Rocheteau and Scott Woods.

janet jones

Janet Webster Jones

Read More →

Meet our Debut Novel Panellists

One of the best things about planning the bookfest program every year is focusing on new writers and hopefully helping to introduce them to a wide audience. Early career appearances from Michael Koryta, John Scalzi, Julia Keller, David Ellis, Benjamin Percy, Julie Hyzy (who returns this year) and others have made this a BookFest tradition. This year we have a wonderful panel of women writers who are well worth discovering.

Moderated by the University of Michigan’s Doug Trevor, this year’s panel (1:30 in the Kerrytown Concert House, come early to get a good seat!) features Ann Arbor’s own Tiya Miles as well as Angela Flournoy, Greer Macallister and Aline Ohanesian.

Read More →